Choosing a security setting for your sign up is kind of like being a bouncer for an elite party…except without the muscles and tattoo requirements. You want to choose the right settings so the people who are invited can easily access the sign up but still, keep it off limits for party crashers. The default setting for any sign up is for users to give their name and email when signing up without creating an account with SignUpGenius. With this information, users can receive reminders and even edit their items.
The only way to search for a sign up on our site is using the magnifying glass icon accessible from the upper right-hand side of the homepage. From this area, the email address of the sign up creator can be entered to view active sign ups available from their account. Key word searches by school name, organization, etc are not allowed which makes it difficult for a random person to just happen upon a sign up. If you still think you need to beef up the security, we have a few enhanced security options available.
If this setting is selected, users will have to create an account (email & password) at SignUpGenius.com in order to sign up. We make this optional since some of your users may complain about having to setup an account at a site they are not familiar with. Having an account does benefit the user by making it easier if they ever need to modify their item or sign up multiple times - but users can still receive reminders and perform the tasks they need without an account. If you do NOT check this setting, users can still create accounts if they want to.
Require an Access Code
This setting makes it so that your sign up is only visible when entering a specific access code. While this provides great security for your sign up, keep in mind this option can make it slightly more challenging for your users to respond. If you send invitations through our system, the access code will be sent automatically. However, if you send invites from your own email, you will need to make sure that your users know the access code.
Reject Sign Ups Outside Group
Only people who can sign up are those with emails listed in your group. It's a good way to prevent people from outside your group from signing up. That said, keep in mind that users have to sign up with the exact email you list in your group. If users have multiple email addresses and try to sign up with a different email address than the one you have in your group, they will be rejected and often confused. It is also not possible to use a group email alias with this setting because there is no way to know which emails are part of the group email. This setting is typically best when used with a small group where you need to restrict access from anyone outside the group.