Want no ads? View Plans
Want no ads? View Plans
First Parish Unitarian Universalist

FP Chancel Decoration 2021-2022

Come and sign up to decorate the Chancel! It's fun, and you can be as creative as you want. Decorations don't have to be limited to flowers. People this past year made beautiful arrangements ranging from baskets, to photography, to tapestry to drums.

Chancel Decorations During a Pandemic

At this writing, Rev. Aaron is still recording the video for the Sunday service on Fridays. Please ensure that your decorations are installed by Thursday afternoon of that week. Remember to take down your decorations sometime after Friday.

Service themes are posted under the "Location" column on Signup Genius. As a chancel decorator, you can choose to do a design that complements the service theme OR one of your own choosing.

Large vases are available in the back hall closets in the Meetinghouse, or you may want to use your own. Remember to take your vase home afterward.

Chancel Designs Are Appropriate for Many Occasions

Do a design that reflects the sermon topic. OR: Celebrate an anniversary, a season or a holiday, make an expression of gratitude, honor your grandparents, make a display just because you want to create something! The possibilities are endless.

Inspiration: Be creative! Bring in:

  • A wall hanging or sculpture piece
  • A collection of baskets
  • A collage or painting
  • Your favorite vase(s)
  • Silk flowers from a garden center or craft store
  • Plants from your garden or home
  • Fresh flowers from a garden center or supermarket
  • A flower arrangement from a florist you trust, like Frugal Flowers in Sudbury (cost is lower if you provide the vase)

Budget and Size of Your Display

That is up to you – you can bring in flowers from your home or garden OR have a florist make your arrangement for a range of $25 - $85 per arrangement. You can set a vase on a block or stand to help create interest and make your arrangement even more striking.

If you have questions, call or email Marianne Orlando (508 875 4552 or [email protected]).

If you’d like a dedication printed in the Order of Service, email [email protected] by the Thursday before the Sunday date you’ve chosen.  For example: “Chancel flowers (or Art - decoration) are provided by "your name or group" in memory [or in honor] of ________________.  One or two short lines is best.

Marianne Orlando, Chancel Decorations Coordinator

Created by:   Marianne Orlando
 

Date (mm/dd/yyyy EDT) Location Available Slot
09/12/2021 (Sun.) Hospitality - Water Ceremony and Ingathering 

Decorator(s)

 
09/19/2021 (Sun.) Hospitality 

Decorator(s)

 
09/26/2021 (Sun.) Hospitality 

Decorator(s)

 
10/03/2021 (Sun.) Prophets/Saints/Heroes 

Decorator(s)

 
10/10/2021 (Sun.) Prophets/Saints/Heroes (Rev. A. is off) 

Decorator(s)

 
10/17/2021 (Sun.) Prophets/Saints/Heroes 

Decorator(s)

 
10/24/2021 (Sun.) Prophets/Saints/Heroes 

Decorator(s)

 
10/31/2021 (Sun.) Prophets/Saints/Heroes - All Souls 

Decorator(s)

 
11/07/2021 (Sun.) Grace 

Decorator(s)

 
11/14/2021 (Sun.) Grace 

Decorator(s)

 
11/21/2021 (Sun.) Grace 

Decorator(s)

 
11/28/2021 (Sun.) Grace (Rev. A. is off) 

Decorator(s)

 
12/05/2021 (Sun.) Hope 

Decorator(s)

 
12/12/2021 (Sun.) Hope 

Decorator(s)

 
12/19/2021 (Sun.) Hope 

Decorator(s)

 
12/26/2021 (Sun.) Hope (Rev. A off) 

Decorator(s)

 
01/02/2022 (Sun.) Transformation 

Decorator(s)

 
01/09/2022 (Sun.) Transformation 

Decorator(s)

 
01/16/2022 (Sun.) Transformation - MLK Day 

Decorator(s)

 
01/23/2022 (Sun.) Transformation 

Decorator(s)

 
01/30/2022 (Sun.) Transformation 

Decorator(s)

 
02/06/2022 (Sun.) Generosity 

Decorator(s)

 
02/13/2022 (Sun.) Generosity 

Decorator(s)

 
02/20/2022 (Sun.) Generosity (Rev. A is off) 

Decorator(s)

 
02/27/2022 (Sun.) Generosity 

Decorator(s)

 
03/06/2022 (Sun.) Renewal 

Decorator(s)

 
03/13/2022 (Sun.) Renewal 

Decorator(s)

 
03/20/2022 (Sun.) Renewal 

Decorator(s)

 
03/27/2022 (Sun.) Renewal 

Decorator(s)

 
04/03/2022 (Sun.) The Body 

Decorator(s)

 
04/10/2022 (Sun.) The Body 

Decorator(s)

 
04/17/2022 (Sun.) The Body 

Decorator(s)

 
04/24/2022 (Sun.) The Body 

Decorator(s)

 
05/01/2022 (Sun.) Truth (Rev. A is off) 

Decorator(s)

 
05/08/2022 (Sun.) Truth (Rev. A. is off) 

Decorator(s)

 
05/15/2022 (Sun.) Truth 

Decorator(s)

 
05/22/2022 (Sun.) Truth 

Decorator(s)

 
05/29/2022 (Sun.) Truth 

Decorator(s)

 
06/05/2022 (Sun.) Blessing 

Decorator(s)

 
06/12/2022 (Sun.) Blessing 

Decorator(s)

 
06/19/2022 (Sun.) Blessing 

Decorator(s)

 
06/26/2022 (Sun.) Blessing (General Assembly) 

Decorator(s)

 
Want no ads? View Plans
Want no ads? View Plans
©2021 SignUpGenius.
All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Service  |